Skip to Main Content 
Authority is Constructed and Contextual
Video: Academic Writing
This video will encourage students to think about their role as academic writers. Students will also learn about the importance of background research and considering mutliple perspectives when joining the scholarly conversation.
Video: Primary and Secondary Research
This video illustrates the differences between primary (original) research (with a focus on methods used in sciences and social sciences) and secondary research, and the ethical considerations associated with each.
Video: Inquiry
Use this video to introduce students to the value of using an inquiry-based mindset. Students will learn how to use inquiry to ask questions and solve problems thoughtfully and effectively.
Video: Evaluating Statistics
Statistics are widely used to support arguments and positions. Use this video to encourage students to think critically about how the statistics they encounter were created and used to convey information.
Video: Why Does Visual Literacy Matter?
This video will introduce students to the role visual materials play in their daily lives and the skills they will need to communicate quickly and universally using images and media.
Information Creation as a Process
Video: Evaluating Sources
Use this video to encourage students to think critically about the information they encounter in print and online. Students will become familiar with strategies for evaluating sources based on these criteria: authority, accuracy, currency, relevance, and objectivity.
Video: Academic Writing
This video will encourage students to think about their role as academic writers. Students will also learn about the importance of background research and considering multiple perspectives when joining the scholarly conversation.
Video: Anatomy of a Research Paper
This vdeo provides students with an overview of the basic structure of a research paper.
Video: Understanding the Communication Need
Use this video to help students analyze the purpose of communication methods. Students will be introduced to the advantages and disadvantages of each in order to choose the best type for a given situation.
Video: Writing Help
Use this video to help students craft clear and effective written assignments. Students will review the value of sentence variety and the importance of proofreading their work.
Video: How to Read Scholarly Materials
Do your students feel intimidated by scholarly materials? Use this video to help students get familiar with these valuable resources and learn tips for approaching, analyzing, and integrating scholarly materials into their projects.
Video: Peer Review
This video will provide students with an understanding of what peer review means, how the process works, why it is an indicator of quality, and how to locate peer-reviewed sources during their research process.
Video: Primary and Secondary Research
This video illustrates the differences between primary (original) research (with a focus on methods used in sciences and social sciences) and secondary research, and the ethical considerations associated with each.
Video: Types of Sources
This video provides students with a helpful overview of the wide variety of source types they may encounter during research. In addition to defining and describing different source types, it also addresses how to select the appropriate source for their information need, analyzing the capabilities and constraints of different source types, and how to determine source quality.
Video: Interpreting Images
Interpreting visual information is a critical skill students will use beyond their academic careers. Use this video to encourage students to ask questions and consider context when interpreting visuals.
Video: Using Quantitative Data
Use this video to help students incorporate quantitative data in their research and evaluate available sources for currency, accuracy, authority, relevance, and objectivity
Video: Why Does Visual Literacy Matter?
This video will introduce students to the role visual materials play in their daily lives and the skills they will need to communicate quickly and universally using images and media.
Information has Value
Video: Academic Integrity
Use this video to provide students with an introduction to the concept that information has value, and that acting with academic integrity and ethical behavior is essential to success as a student and as a participant in the scholarly conversation.
Video: Chicago Style, 17th Edition: Books and Ebooks
This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations, focusing on book citations (see the companion videos for information on journal and website citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.
Video: Chicago Style, 17th Edition: Journals
This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations, focusing on journals (see the companion videos for information on book and website citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.
Video: Chicago Style, 17th Edition: Websites and Social Media
This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations, focusing on web resources (see the companion videos for information on book and journal citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.
Video: Harvard Citation Style
This video provides an overview of the Harvard referencing style, which is common at universities in the UK. It includes an introduction about the importance of citations and describes conventions for popular sources such as books, websites, and journals.
Video: MLA 7th Edition Citation Style
Use this video to provide students with an overview of the MLA 8th edition citation style, including an explanation of the “container” concept and an overview of using the citation style for popular source types such as books, websites, and journal articles.
Video: MLA 8th Edition Citation Style
Use this video to provide students with an overview of the MLA 8th edition citation style, including an explanation of the “container” concept and an overview of using the citation style for popular source types such as books, websites, and journal articles.
Video: Plagiarism
This video provides examples and explanations of specific types of plagiarism, such as cloning, aggregation, and self-plagiarism, as well as strategies to prevent plagiarizing and a reminder of the possible consequences of academic dishonesty.
Video: Turabian Citation Style
Use this video to provide students with an overview of Turabian citation style, including common source types such as books, journals, and websites.
Video: APA 6th Edition Citations
Use this video to provide students with an overview of the sixth edition of the APA citation style including information on how to cite common source types such as books, journals, and websites.
Video Tutorial: Understanding Misinformation
This video will help students identify the characteristics and purpose of misinformation as well as its effect on their personal and academic lives.
Video: Life in the Information Age
Technology is changing the way we locate, analyze, and share information. Use this video to introduce students to the evolving information landscape and their roles as responsible information consumers and creators.
Video: Academic Writing
This video will encourage students to think about their role as academic writers. Students will also learn about the importance of background research and considering multiple perspectives when joining the scholarly conversation.
Video: How to Read Scholarly Materials
Do your students feel intimidated by scholarly materials? Use this video to help students get familiar with these valuable resources and learn tips for approaching, analyzing, and integrating scholarly materials into their projects.
Video: Why Thinking Matters
Being aware of the critical thinking process will help students develop strong decision making skills. Use this video to encourage students to develop awareness of their own critical thinking habits.
Video: Searching for Images
To be an effective communicator using visual information, students first need to develop the skills necessary for locating images. Use this video to introduce students to strategies for locating images and get familiar with image databases or subject-specific collections accessible through the library.
