Library: CREDO Information Literacy Videos: CREDO Reference Information Literacy Videos

Getting Started with Research

Video: Life in the Information Age Technology is changing the way we locate, analyze, and share information. Use this video to introduce students to the evolving information landscape and their roles as responsible information consumers and creators.
Video: The Research Process Part 1 (Pre-Research) and Part 2 (In-Depth Research, Outlining, and Writing Use this video to demonstrate the value of pre-research. Students will learn how to align their initial exploration to their assignment requirements.
Video: How to Narrow Your Topic Do your students have trouble selecting a topic for a research assignment? This video will outline the process to help students hone in on a compelling research topic with appropriate scope using strategies like strategic searching. Students will also understand the importance of open mindedness and flexibility in the research process.
Video: Beginning Research with Wikipedia/Google Part 1 (Getting Started with Wikipedia/Google) and Part 2 (Transitioning from Google/Wikipedia to Databases) This video will help students understand the process of background research by introducing techniques for gathering background information using Google and Wikipedia.
Video: Thesis Statements Use this video to help students identify the purpose of their research efforts and construct evidence-based statements. Students will learn how to narrow in on a topic, conduct background research, and synthesize the existing body of evidence in order to craft a compelling argument.
Video: Creating a Research Plan Information overload can be a major roadblock in the research process. This video will help students conceptualize a research pathway and consider solutions to common research challenges.
Video: Framing a Problem If your students are having trouble formulating a research question for assignments, start with this video to help students begin the framing a problem. Students will learn the importance of asking open-ended questions and how to approach research as a process.

Sources of Information

Video: Data, Information, and Knowledge This video defines and explains the differences and relationships between data, information, and knowledge, and how each might be used or encountered in research.
Video: Primary and Secondary Research This video illustrates the differences between primary (original) research (with a focus on methods used in sciences and social sciences) and secondary research, and the ethical considerations associated with each.
Video: Peer Review This video will provide students with an understanding of what peer review means, how the process works, why it is an indicator of quality, and how to locate peer-reviewed sources during their research process.
Video: Types of Sources This video provides students with a helpful overview of the wide variety of source types they may encounter during research. In addition to defining and describing different source types, it also addresses how to select the appropriate source for their information need, analyzing the capabilities and constraints of different source types, and how to determine source quality.
Video: Identifying Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources This video will introduce students to the purpose and characteristics of primary, secondary, and tertiary sources in order to help them identify the most appropriate type of source for their research needs.
Video: Using Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources This video will introduce students to the purpose and use of primary, secondary, and tertiary sources in order to help them identify the most appropriate type of source for their research needs.
Video: How to Read Scholarly Materials Do your students feel intimidated by scholarly materials? Use this video to help students get familiar with these valuable resources and learn tips for approaching, analyzing, and integrating scholarly materials into their projects.

Searching for Information

Video: Choosing a Database Students can use this video to receive guidance on how to select the best database(s) for their information need and assignment requirements.
Video: Refining Search Results Use this video to help students navigate the search process. Students will learn techniques to conduct effective background research using multiple keywords in order to narrow in on a research focus.
Video: Searching as Exploration Part 1 (Exploration Strategies) This video digs deeper into exploratory search strategies. Students will learn how to craft a search statement and the importance of neutral language.
Video: Searching as Exploration Part 2 (The Searching Mindset) Watch a revised presentation and make note of what has changed.

Evaluating Information

Video: What is Authority? Use this video to introduce students to the concept of authority, how it relates to research, source selection, evaluation, and attribution.
Video: Introduction to Bias This video introduces the idea of bias and prejudice and the importance of awareness of one’s own bias and the bias of others when evaluating sources and situations, and responding to arguments.
Video: Types of Bias This video builds on the introduction to bias video by discussing specific types of bias such as social bias, confirmation bias, and communal reinforcement.
Video: Evaluating Sources Use this video to encourage students to think critically about the information they encounter in print and online. Students will become familiar with strategies for evaluating sources based on these criteria: authority, accuracy, currency, relevance, and objectivity.
Video Tutorial: Understanding Misinformation This video will help students identify the characteristics and purpose of misinformation as well as its effect on their personal and academic lives.
Video: Introduction to Fact-Checking Everyday we look to sources like the news to help us make decisions. But how do we know if the information presented is accurate? Depending on the type of publication (books, magazines, newspapers, online articles, official reports, etc.), a fact-checker, or team of fact-checkers, may have spent time reviewing the information to verify its accuracy. Not all publications have a dedicated fact-checker; in fact, more and more publications are spending less time and resources on fact-checking because of the fast pace of news and ease of finding information online. Nevertheless, fact-checking is an important process to ensure readers get information that is accurate and trustworthy. The following video will give you a foundational understanding of fact-checking in information creation and how it is used to evaluate published claims. You’ll learn how to use professional fact-checking techniques to evaluate the reliability of sources—and the accuracy of their claims—that you come across in class and in your daily life.

Visual and Quantitative Literacy Section

Video: Searching for Images To be an effective communicator using visual information, students first need to develop the skills necessary for locating images. Use this video to introduce students to strategies for locating images and get familiar with image databases or subject-specific collections accessible through the library.
Video: Interpreting Images Interpreting visual information is a critical skill students will use beyond their academic careers. Use this video to encourage students to ask questions and consider context when interpreting visuals.
Video: Why Does Visual Literacy Matter? This video will introduce students to the role visual materials play in their daily lives and the skills they will need to communicate quickly and universally using images and media.
Video: Using Quantitative Data Use this video to help students incorporate quantitative data in their research and evaluate available sources for currency, accuracy, authority, relevance, and objectivity
Video: Evaluating Statistics Statistics are widely used to support arguments and positions. Use this video to encourage students to think critically about how the statistics they encounter were created and used to convey information.
Video: Geographic Literacy

Academic Integrity

Video: Accessing Information - Examining Habits Video provides examples of how you can proactively adjust the way you acquire information to support your ability to make informed decisions.
Video: Acknowledging Information's Value The following video examines ways in which you can acknowledge that information has value: by accessing information legally, and by crediting creators of information appropriately. Both of these acts are essential aspects of academic integrity.
Video: Digital Privacy Watch this video to learn how your privacy may be eroded in the digital environment.
Video: APA Citations Citation basics for APA.
Video: Intellectual Property In this video, you’ll learn about the purpose of copyright protections, the definition of public domain, and be introduced to the concept of fair use. Following the video, you will find slides that take a closer look at some concepts related to copyright and intellectual property
Video: Introduction to Digital Citizenship This video demonstrates the value and characteristics of digital citizenship.
Video: MLA 9th Edition Citation Style Use this video to provide students with an overview of the MLA 9th edition citation style, including an explanation of the “container” concept and an overview of using the citation style for popular source types such as books, websites, and journal articles.
Video: Plagiarism This video provides examples and explanations of specific types of plagiarism, such as cloning, aggregation, and self-plagiarism, as well as strategies to prevent plagiarizing and a reminder of the possible consequences of academic dishonesty.
Video: Using a Range of Sources he following video will examine two key aspects of academic integrity.

Presenting Research and Data

Video: Academic Writing This video will encourage students to think about their role as academic writers. Students will also learn about the importance of background research and considering mutliple perspectives when joining the scholarly conversation.
Video: Anatomy of a Research Paper This vdeo provides students with an overview of the basic structure of a research paper.
Video: Presentation Skills: Scenario Part 1 In this video, you’ll learn about the elements of speech that can influence how your message is perceived. You’ll also learn strategies for adjusting these elements to help your message better reach your audience.
Video: Presentation Skills: Scenario Part 2 This is Part of Presentation Skills with a modified example
Video: Understanding the Communication Need Use this video to help students analyze the purpose of communication methods. Students will be introduced to the advantages and disadvantages of each in order to choose the best type for a given situation.
Video: Writing Help Use this video to help students craft clear and effective written assignments. Students will review the value of sentence variety and the importance of proofreading their work.
Video: Study Tips In this video, you’ll meet Gabriella, a junior studying psychology, who will introduce you to successful studying tips.

Using Critical Thinking and Logic Section

Video: Why Thinking Matters Being aware of the critical thinking process will help students develop strong decision making skills. Use this video to encourage students to develop awareness of their own critical thinking habits.
Video: Inquiry Use this video to introduce students to the value of using an inquiry-based mindset. Students will learn how to use inquiry to ask questions and solve problems thoughtfully and effectively.
Video: Evidence Based Reasoning Use this video to introduce students to the importance of supporting research conclusions with evidence. Students will also learn how to assess their research question in order to locate the approptiate supporting evidence.

Culture and Citizenship Section

Video: Introduction to Cultural Issues Understanding their own cultural identity is the first step for students to develop empathy for others from different backgrounds. Use this video to encourage students to consider how their identity is affected by culture and world events.
Video: Global Citizenship This video will introduce students to their roles as global citizens by encouraging them to think critically about their daily actions in a global context.
Video: Introduction to Civic Engagement Part of being a responsible, informed citizen is engaging with the goals and challenges of the community. Use this video to help students begin reflecting on ways they have been (or could be) involved with civic issues in their community
Video: Introduction to Civic Action Effective communication is a key part of successful civic action. Use this video to introduce students to the fundamental role communication plays in the stages of planning, implementing, and discussing civic action.