Use the following guide to locate academic articles for psychology. Academic articles are also called scholarly or peer-reviewed articles and can be easily located in the EMCC library databases.
The library has two psychology specific databases, APA PsycArticles and Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection.
APA PsycArticles contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association. When searching this database be sure to select the Full Text box on the beginning search page. This ensures you will only be searching for full text articles. All articles in this database are peer reviewed journal articles.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection includes full text journals, covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. When searching this database be sure to select the Full Text box and the Peer Reviewed box on the beginning search page. This will ensure you will only be searching for full text articles that are peer reviewed.
If you are searching for a topic that involves more than one keyword, place “quotes” around your keywords like this:
“confirmation bias”
“optical illusion”
This can give you more specific search results.
After locating an article, you may be asked to summarize or paraphrase it. For an explanation of this, see the OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab’s section on Quoting, Paraphrasing and Summarizing.
To cite your article in APA format, see the APA Guide, or for additional information see the OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab’s section on APA citation.
