Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ECN 212 : Research Paper Planning

This guide is to assist ENC 212 students with searching for resources for their final paper.

START HERE

For this paper, your instructor is asking you to look at poverty, economic inequality, and/or the intersection of poverty and economic inequality. Before beginning your paper some background research will assist you in becoming informed on the history of this topic.

 

1. The Rise of Income and Wealth Inequality in America: Evidence from Distributional Macroeconomic Accounts 
Emmanuel Saez and Gabriel Zucman

Full-Text Access (Complimentary) | Supplementary Materials

2. Growing Income Inequality in the United States and Other Advanced Economies 
Florian Hoffmann, David S. Lee and Thomas Lemieux

Full-Text Access (Complimentary) | Supplementary Materials

3. World Inequality Database: https://wid.world/

E-Reference Books

Consider these book entries from the Credo Reference database: 

*Log on with your MEID & Password. 

PovertyOwnby, Ted. "Poverty." Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century, edited by Paul Finkelman, Gale, 1st edition, 2000. Credo Reference, https://login.libproxy.estrellamountain.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/galeus/poverty/0?institutionId=5536. Accessed 19 Oct. 2020.- https://search-credoreference-com.libproxy.estrellamountain.edu/content/entry/galeus/poverty/0

Poverty Pressman, Steven. "New data paint an unpleasant picture of poverty in the US." The Conversation: An Independent Source of Analysis from Academic Researchers, edited by Conversation, The Conversation, 1st edition, 2018. Credo Reference, https://login.libproxy.estrellamountain.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/conversqauq/why_the_war_on_poverty_in_the_us_isnt_over_in_4_charts/0?institutionId=5536. Accessed 19 Oct. 2020. - https://search-credoreference-com.libproxy.estrellamountain.edu/content/entry/conversqauq/why_the_war_on_poverty_in_the_us_isnt_over_in_4_charts/0 

Economic InequalitySomaini, Eugenio, and Somaini. "Inequality, Economic." International Encyclopedia of Political Science, Bertrand Badie, et al., Sage Publications, 1st edition, 2011. Credo Reference, https://login.libproxy.estrellamountain.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/sageieps/inequality_economic/0?institutionId=5536. Accessed 19 Oct. 2020. -https://search-credoreference-com.libproxy.estrellamountain.edu/content/entry/sageieps/inequality_economic/0

 

Don't know how to search Credo Reference? Watch this video. 

Credo Reference from EMCC on Vimeo.

 

Book Excerpts from Opposing Viewpoints

Here are examples of readings you can find on the Opposing Viewpoints database.

 *Log on with your MEID & Password

Economic Inequality Davidson, Lawrence. "Economic Inequality Promotes Poverty." Poverty in America, edited by Tamara Thompson, Greenhaven Press, 2015. At Issue. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/EJ3010960213/OVIC?u=mcc_estm&sid=OVIC&xid=a894226e. Accessed 19 Oct. 2020. Originally published as "Blaming the Poor for Poverty,", 1 Nov. 2013. -https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/EJ3010960213/OVIC?u=mcc_estm&sid=OVIC&xid=a894226e

Basic Income "Universal Basic Income." Gale Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2020. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/KDQJFY210672821/OVIC?u=mcc_estm&sid=OVIC&xid=94dbb4b4. Accessed 20 Oct. 2020. - https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/KDQJFY210672821/OVIC?u=mcc_estm&sid=OVIC&xid=94dbb4b4

Income Inequality "Income Inequality." Gale Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2018. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/MSXFTQ671495757/OVIC?u=mcc_estm&sid=OVIC&xid=8ea9db6c. Accessed 20 Oct. 2020. - https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/MSXFTQ671495757/OVIC?u=mcc_estm&sid=OVIC&xid=8ea9db6c

 

Want more? Search Opposing Viewpoints.

Opposing Viewpoints from EMCC on Vimeo.

Library Books

You can pick up these books at the EMCC Library.