Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RDG 100: Dahmer Word Project

Oxford English Dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary 

  • Locate definitions and usage of words and phrases
  • Contains information on word origins (etymology) and early usage

You may need to login with your MEID and Password in order to access these resources off-campus

View a brief video about Oxford English Dictionary

Credo Reference

Credo Reference 

  • Contains reference information in varying disciplines
  • Will help locate multiple word definitions from specialized dictionaries

Search Tip - How to narrow down results to dictionaries only: After doing a search for your word, click on the "All Types" button towards the top of the page and select "Definitions"

You may need to login with your MEID and Password in order to access these resources off-campus

View a brief video about Credo Reference

U.S. Major Dailies

U.S. Major Dailies

  • National newspaper database
  • Includes full-text articles from the nation's leading newspapers
  • Helpful for locating information about how your word is commonly understood in our culture

You may need to login with your MEID and Password in order to access these resources off-campus

Search Tip - Select the Full text option on the beginning search page

Example Search: 

"rubik's cube" and art

View a brief video about U.S. Major Dailies

Arizona Republic

Arizona Republic 

  • Local newspaper database
  • Includes full-text articles from the Arizona Republic
  • Utilize this database for locating local information on how your word is commonly understood in our culture

Search Tip - Select the Full text option on the beginning search page

You may need to login with your MEID and Password in order to access these resources off-campus

View a brief video about Arizona Republic